top of page

Vanilla Bean Panna Cotta with Spiced Plum Compote


Panna Cotta...gelatin...don't turn away, vegans! I am a HUGE fan of set creme desserts like panna cotta, and I have wanted to do this recipe for awhile now, so I have been trying to get my hands on some vegan gelatine for quite a long time. Anyway, today I found some, and skeptical though I was (the milk I was using is AMAZING - worth it amazing), I went ahead with the creating. Side note: I MUCH prefer the vegan gelatine to normal, it is actually flavourless, unlike normal "flavourles gelatine".

Unline Creme Brulee, which I also love, Panna Cotta doesn't contain eggs, so a vegan version is much easier. I took a trip to my local "Fancy" food store, in the hopes that my all time favourite (and local!) almond milk was in stock. And it was. It's called Carew Kitchen Almond Milk and comes in either plain or lightly sweetened, and it's fresh and creamy and delicious (I have to stop myself just drinking it all) - check it out here! If you are in Auckland, you can find it at Farro Fresh.

This dessert looks really lovely, but please don't let that put you off making it, it is definitely something I would suggest to beginner cooks - especially when you are wanting to impress. The panna cotta itself takes probably about 30 mins total of cooking time, and then perhaps an hour to chill/set. With an additional 10-15 minutes to prepare the plum compote (or you can cheat and use tinned plums).....

So, without any further delay, here is how you too, can make and enjoy this gorgeous dessert.

Panna Cotta (Serves 4):

- 500mls of Fresh Plant Milk (I used Carew Kitchen's Sweetened Almond Milk)

- 2 tbsp of thick coconut cream (I used Fia Fia)

- 1 Sachet of Vegan Gelatine (or as directed on the packet - enough to set 500mls of liquid)

- 2 tbsp of Pure Maple Syrup

- 1 tsp of Vanilla Bean Paste (I used Heilala Vanilla)

I prepared my custard in a double boiler, but if you don't have one, or the means to improvise, then go ahead and just use a pan over a low heat.

Sprinkle gelatine powder over the milk, and whisk vigorously until combined. Add the syrup and vanilla, and heat gently until it reaches boiling point.

Take off the heat, and pour in to four dessert glasses or bowls. Chill for about 1 hour, or until cold and set. You can do this up to a day in advance.

For the compote:

- 6 large red or black doris plums, stoned. and chopped.

- 1/4 cup of raw sugar

- 1/2 tsp of cinnamon

- 1 tsp of vanilla extract

Combine all ingedients in a saucepan, and cook over a low heat until the plums are soft and the sugar dissolved. Cool.

When the compote is cooled, spoon gently over the set Panna Cottas and serve immediately.

Note: You could also do these in Panna Cotta Moulds, and turn them out before serving with the compote. Also, if you are note vegan, or dairyfree - you could make this recipe using any milk and/or normal gelatine.

I hope you enjoy it as much as I did!

Happy Weekend!

K x

Featured Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Clean
  • RSS Clean

Subscribe for Updates

Congrats! You’re subscribed

bottom of page