top of page

Cacao Dream Smoothie

Hello my fellow foodies! I am back in the blogging world!

I took a wee break from actual blogging (I was still posting on Instagram and Facebook) as I have been on holiday for the last month or so, but still very busy with weddings and what not.

Anyway, today is a great day and I am really excited to be starting a new job, and a new chapter in my life. Woohoo! I have sort of fallen off the healthy eating wagon as well, I don’t ever really eat things like takeout, so for me that mainly just means losing a bit of control over the things that I like to include in my normal diet, like green smoothies, supplements and what not. So anyway, as of today, that changes too! It's back to daily green smoothies and taking my vitamins!

I am a really big tea drinker, and cannot talk enough about the benefits of drinking herbal teas. They are so abundant in their health benefits, and I know that if I am having a day where I feel a little unhealthy, just drinking one cup of herbal tea makes me feel somewhat ‘reset’. I drink around 8 cups of herbal tea a day, and not only is it great for helping fluid intake, it's great for my digestion, any inflammation, fluid retention, sleep – the list goes on!

If you have followed me for awhile, you'll know that I make a lot of smoothies (possibly an understatement). And whilst I not generally a calorie counter, I do need to be cautiously aware of them and definitely watch my intake of sugar and carbohydrates, because for me they definitely trigger weight gain. What you will also know, is that I don't always stick to “normal” 'milk, berry and banana' type smoothies (although I do love that sort of smoothie too!), and like to mix it up a little.

So with my love of smoothies and tea combined, it's only natural that I would eventually blend some of my smoothies with cooled tea. This not only helps with keeping their calorie count down, but also increases their health benefits. They are also perfect for people who don't like hot drinks, but are keen to include tea as part of their daily diet.

Very often I just blend with chamomile tea (an old but never failing goodie) which is perfect in a green smoothie. However, my new favourite blending tea, is the beautiful range by Storm and India Tea Sisters. These blends take tea, and my love affair with it, to a whole new level…even just looking at their packaging is somewhat soothing! Haha! Having a cup of any of their teas, is enough to improve anyone's day – like a hug in cup. Having a smoothie made with their tea will make your day plain awesome.

I love to blend a green smoothie with their Morning Detox Tea (it goes with everything!) but their Exlixer Chocolat tea is absolutely something else. It's gorgeous with a dash of plant milk and couple squares of chocolate, but it is dreeeeamy when blended into a cacao smoothie. It tastes like a total treat but it's guilt free and has a decent amount of protein in it too and infact really healthy - perfect for a meal.

So here is the recipe for my Cacao Dream smoothie, blended with Elixer Chocolat Tea by Storm and India – great for any time of the day, but today I am calling it breakfast, and I know it will be the perfect start to my fresh chapter.

For one smoothie:

1 cup of brewed and cooled Elixer Chocolat Tea

1 ripe banana or pear (no skin)

1 tbsp of peanut butter

12 cashew nuts (soaked)

3 medjool dates (pitted)

1 cup of spinach leaves

2 tbsp of raw cacao powder

Handful of ice

Blend together until smooth, serve immediately.

Hope you enjoy it as much as I did, have a great week.

K x

Featured Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Clean
  • RSS Clean

Subscribe for Updates

Congrats! You’re subscribed

bottom of page