top of page

Feeding your skin!


For the majority of my teenage and adult life, I have been blessed with blemish free skin - very very breakouts, very few 'here and there' spots, little need for for foundation or concealer etc etc.

That was, until I got to my mid-twenties. All of a sudden my skin has become bumpy, spotty, dry, oily and sensitive, all at the same time. This certainly hasn't been a welcome addition to my life and definitely not something I am used to.

I suspect that these changes are largly hormone and stress related, as my diet is something that I am quite aware, and always pretty conscious about what I put in to my body. Funny though, that until I started getting somewhat 'troublesome' skin, I never placed too much importance of what I put ON my body.

So, for a while now (even before said troublesome skin) I have been switching from various different supermarket skin products without any problems...I have always been a religous '2 x daily skin routine' person, so attributed my blemish free skin, mostly, to that.

More recently, because of this surprising and unwelcome addition to my life, I have been 'upping' the efforts in terms if the products I use, and for fair while now I have been a devout Bobbi Brown girl - with "OK" results, but nothing in comparison to my old skin. And, in addition to this - I have always kind of toyed with the idea of using something a little more natural, a little more local and, importantly, cruelty free.

I had a seen Tailor Skincare appearing/featuring a lot of Facebook and Instagram and I was able to use it a couple of times when staying with a friend, but, because of the issues that I had been having with my skin, and feeling like I was possibly on the best possible path I could hope for (with just OK skin), I was really reluctant to make the change.

I was so, super lucky in that the gorgeous team at Tailor Skincare, sent me a pack of their minis - suited to my skin type, which, I might add, may look mini - but seem to last an eternity (I have used mine for 5 days now and they still look like they have weeks left in them!). So, without replacing my entire skincare products on a whim, I was able to try the products out.

Well, after my first day trying - my skin (which was right in the beginning of a small breakout) looked the same - as expected, but felt GLORIOUS. Second day came along and I was noticing a difference - I really kid you not, SECOND DAY!

Third day of using the product, and my skin was looking really good - less bumpiness, the cracks until my eyelids (dare I say it, in my wrinkles) we gone, it felt hydrated yet not oily. It really felt and looked lovely (if I do say so myself). On the night of day three, I used the mask. I had actually watched the video that Sara from Tailor had made re the mask - which i am glad I did, otherwise I most likely would have thought I was having a reaction (due to the redness) - but actually, this means the mask is working its magic. And, magic did it work.

I washed the mask off, *cue baby bottom feeling skin*, applied the hydrating gel and went to bed. The next day (I feel like I can't do it justice in words OR photos), my skin looked and felt amazing - I literally went out that day (all dressed up) with no makeup on. It was plump, vibrant and, seriously, as you can see by the photo - almost blemish free. Excuse the gratuitous "selfie" shots - but you had to be able to see for yourself!

So, Tailor has ticked all the boxes, and as you can see from the first pictures, my purchases have already arrived (so speedy!!) and I am really excited about my new regime. If you want to try it out yourself - particularly the minis (to get an idea!) you can get it online here!

Now that we have topical skincare covered, I obviously want to point out the importance that I place on diet in relationship to skin. Having a diet that is abundant in nutrients - good fats, vitamins, minerals and antioxidants is so important, in terms keeping your skin (and body!) healthy. Including foods that are known for their 'skin benefiting' properties can't go a miss either; i.e. papaya, mango, avocado, kiwifruits, green leafy vegetables, nut milks, olive oil, coconut water, sunflower seeds etc.

If you want to make yourself the same 'skinfood' smoothie that I made this morning;

Blend together:

1 cup of coconut water

1/4 of an avocado

1 green kiwifruit

1 small banana

1/4 of a papaya (peeled and de-seeded)

2 cups of baby kale

1 tbsp of sunflower seeds

Serve immediately!

Featured Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Clean
  • RSS Clean

Subscribe for Updates

Congrats! You’re subscribed

bottom of page