top of page

Feijoa Crumble


Here comes the cold weather! New Zealand has been bundled up inside these past few days, due to the cold snap of weather that Autumn has graced us with.

In my house it has been all about warm, comforting meals - and in winter I like to do a dessert most nights, because life is about enjoyment and there is nothing better than a hot, yummy pudding on a cold night.

Pudding doesn't have to be a stodgy, sugary cake-like items (although sometimes I do that sort, too!) and the abundance of fruits that are available with the colder weather are perfect for making delicious winter puds.

Feijoas are a New Zealand fruit, and most of us are lucky enough to have at least one friend that will provide us with bags of these green beauties. I love to eat the big, juicy feijoas just as they are but those smaller, more tart feijoas are perfect for baking with, or making crumbles like this one. It is super easy to make (and in my opinion, pretty healthy) - the hardest part, is the time consuming nature of cutting and scooping each tiny piece of fruit.

You will need:

2 cups of feijoa fruit flesh, laid in an oven proof pie dish

To make the crumble, combine:

1/3 cup of coconut oil, melted

1/3 cup of coconut shreds

1/3 cup of any flour, except coconut flour

1/3 cup of coconut sugar

1 cup of oats

1/2 tsp of cinnamon

Sprinkle the crumble mixture over the fruit, and bake at 180 degrees, for around 40 minutes or until the crumble is golden brown and the dessert is piping hot.

I usually serve this type of dessert with Little Island Vanilla Bean Nicecream, but I am at my parents' house at the moment and they only had hokey pokey (so I couldn't help myself, ofcourse!). Serve it with any kind of icecream/nice cream, cream or yoghurt.

Happy Tuesday!

K x

Featured Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Clean
  • RSS Clean

Subscribe for Updates

Congrats! You’re subscribed

bottom of page