top of page

Chocolate Fudge Cake


So I know that my blog is primarily "healthy food", but part of being healthy, in my opinion, is to have some balance in life. And for me, that applies to food as well.

I do like to adapt many things to be healthier, free of refined sugar and what not, but, sometimes I just want cake. And I don't mean cake made with apply sauce, coconut sugar and wholemeal flour. I mean cake made with fat, white sugar, white flour and chocolate! In saying that, this cake (if you use vegan yoghurt) can be vegan, and is dairy and egg free.

So if you are on the same page as me, and you like to indulge yourself and your family on occassion, then this cake is a winner. It is rich and chocolatey - fudgy and sweet and accompanied with a hot cuppa or a glass of red - is heaven on earth!

It is also really simple, you know when you make something really easy and you take it somewhere and everyone is all astounded that you made something so delicious with such little time...and secretly you know it took you all of five minutes, but you take all the compliments anyway? This is like that. He he.

It is a one bowl recipe, you chuck everything in, stir it then bake it. Simple. As. That.

So here it is:

1 cup of oil

1 cup of yoghurt (I used Raglan Coconut Yoghurt)

1 cup of brewed instant coffee

1 1/2 cups of sugar

2 cups of flour

1 tsp baking soda

1 tsp baking powder

1 cup of cocoa powder

1 tsp vanilla

Mix together in a big bowl, then pour in to a lined/greased cake tin and bake at 160 degrees for about 45 minutes. The cake should be risen in the centre, and if you stick a knife in, it should come out with fudgy cake bits on it - if it is still liquid, stick in back in the oven for a bit longer.

I didn't ice mine, I drizzled with chocoate ganache, which you can do if you are eating it all at once - i.e. for pudding with guests. Or to ice it, wait until cooled before spreading with ganache. I used the following combo to make the ganache:

200gms Whittakers dark block

200gms of Raglan Coconut Yoghurt

Melt the chocolate on a low heat or in the microwave, stir in a quarter of the yoghurt at a time until smooth and glossy.

Do it, I dare you. Especially if you need to bribe someone.

Enjoy!

K x


Featured Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Clean
  • RSS Clean

Subscribe for Updates

Congrats! You’re subscribed

bottom of page